Hamradio 2.0 Podcast

Ham Radio 2.0 Join Jason, KC5HWB, as he focuses on ‘What is New in Amateur Radio?’ during this video podcast series titled Ham Radio 2.0. Talk about new radios, new transmission modes, License classes, Technical talks and trips around the world.

  • Episode 585: Wouxun REVEALS the KG-1000G | Best Mobile GMRS Radio?
    by Jason Johnston – KC5HWB on 14 april 2021 at 11:31

    Today we get to look at a brand new Mobile GMRS Radio from Wouxun, the KG-1000G. This Mobile radio has some nice features that make it a contender for one of the best Mobile GMRS Radios on the market today. Let’s take a look…Purchase link: https://www.buytwowayradios.com/wouxun-kg-1000g.html?cmid=amsreGRvTmttM0k9&afid=dVVPbGl2K2tzVDA9&ats=bHdLSkJuKyttWFU9

  • Episode 584: 73,000 Subscriber Giveaway and Operating as KA6LMS/5
    by Jason Johnston – KC5HWB on 5 april 2021 at 00:28

    Tonight we will announce the winners of the 73k Giveaway and if the bands have quieted down from the WPX Contest this past weekend, we will do some operating as KA6LMS/5 on SSB.

  • Episode 583: Operating as KA6LMS/5 | HF Special Event
    by Jason Johnston – KC5HWB on 5 april 2021 at 00:23

    Today I will be livestreaming the KA6LMS Special Event to commemorate the last season of Last Man Standing. I will be operating as KA6LMS/5 on HF SSB. Probably on 20M but we will see what the bands look like.Event details: http://gsbarc.org/lms

  • Episode 582: Ham Radio Today for March 26 | Ham Radio Shopping Deals
    by Jason Johnston – KC5HWB on 2 april 2021 at 15:11

    Ham Radio Today! Thanks for joining us in this episode.Find links below:KA6LMS Event: http://gsbarc.org/lmsMTC Mailer: https://tinyurl.com/rtyarkkBuy Two Way Radio: http://hr2.li/7q211R&L: http://hr2.li/5fsa3Gigaparts Weekly Specials: http://hr2.li/witaeCQ WW WPX Contest, SSB: https://www.contestcalendar.com/contestdetails.php?ref=291Bridgecom Giveaway: https://wn.nr/QmfXGkMERCH! http://shop.hamradio2.com 73k Giveaway: hamradio2.com73k-giveaway

  • Episode 581: Wouxun REVEALS the KG-UV8H Dual Band 8-watt HT Radio
    by Jason Johnston – KC5HWB on 2 april 2021 at 02:16

    Brand new from Wouxun is the KG-UV8H Handheld, which features a different screen than earlier models, an 8-watt output power, and a 3200mAH battery. Let’s take a look at the features of this new HTPurchase link: http://hr2.li/3x4ul

  • Episode 580: Lunchtime Livestream – Operating as KA6LMS/5 | HF Special Event
    by Jason Johnston – KC5HWB on 2 april 2021 at 01:43

    Today I will be livestreaming the KA6LMS Special Event to commemorate the last season of Last Man Standing. I will be operating as KA6LMS/5 on HF SSB. Probably on 20M but we will see what the bands look like.Event details: http://gsbarc.org/lms

  • Episode 579: It’s Come To My Attention That I’m An Idiot ~
    by Jason Johnston – KC5HWB on 31 maart 2021 at 21:47

    Some random thoughts in my head.

  • Episode 578: Setting up a SHARI Allstar Node with Kyle, AA0Z
    by Jason Johnston – KC5HWB on 30 maart 2021 at 17:22

    From HamProjects.info, the SHARI is a ham construction project designed by N8AR that implements a Raspberry Pi hosted Allstar node using a NiceRF SA818 embedded UHF (420 – 450 MHz) or VHF (144-148 MHz) radio module.Tonight Kyle, AA0Z, joins me to assemble this node and do some on-the-air testing. Join us and be ready to connect to a Node that I will announce on the stream, and we will do some QSOsProduct link: https://hamprojects.info/shari

  • Episode 575: Ham Radio Today! Shopping Deals and Upcoming Events for March 18th
    by Jason Johnston – KC5HWB on 29 maart 2021 at 02:25

    Welcome to Ham Radio Today, a new format for my Weekly Shopping Videos for Ham Radio Deals on Gear and Events. Take a look at the links below for today’s video!HamSci2021: https://hamsci.org/hamsci-2021-programVA QSO Party: https://www.contestcalendar.com/contestdetails.php?ref=302CQ WW WPX Contest, SSB: https://www.contestcalendar.com/contestdetails.php?ref=291KA6LMS Special Event: http://gsbarc.org/lms/R&L: http://hr2.li/5fsa3Ham Radio Prep: https://hamradioprep.comCoupon: jason20Point Below: http://hr2.li/msfw4American Radio Supply: https://tinyurl.com/2h2y7pb5My Amazon Store: https://www.amazon.com/shop/hamradio2.0?listId=2FAPXGXWWO5RTMERCH and ANTENNAS!: http://www.shop.hamradio2.comBetter Safe Radio GMRS: http://hr2.li/e90v4Coupon: HR2G15Signal Stuff Antennas: http://hr2.li/80179

  • Episode 574: Lunchtime Livestream – K6UDA Arrives in Idaho!
    by Jason Johnston – KC5HWB on 26 maart 2021 at 15:08

    Today I welcome Bob, K6UDA, back to the channel. He has moved out of California and arrived in Idaho. Let’s fine out how he is doing!K6UDA Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/bondobob

  • Episode 573: Best Handheld Ham Radio Under $150 | 2021 HT Ham Radio Guide
    by Jason Johnston – KC5HWB on 25 maart 2021 at 02:11

    In early 2021, these are my recommendations of the Best Handheld Ham Radios under $150. Take a look through this list and let me know what you think, or if I should add anything.Baofeng UV-82 5-watt: https://amzn.to/3rRi0ywBaofeng UV-82 8-watt: https://amzn.to/3cvDYjNTYT UV-88: http://hr2.li/jgjmvTYT TH-350: http://hr2.li/x4go3Yaesu FT4XR: http://hr2.li/u43wbYaesu FT-65: http://hr2.li/wc6rxTYT MD-UV380:- http://hr2.li/xnhxd- https://amzn.to/3cx2JfJTYT MD-UV390:- http://hr2.li/e9sch- https://amzn.to/3cxf5nQWouxun KG-UVD1P: http://hr2.li/40yisWouxun KG-UV7D: http://hr2.li/3le3bWouxun KG-UV8D: http://hr2.li/ce3da

  • Episode 572: KA6LMS HF Special Event | Interview with the Last Man Standing Team!
    by Jason Johnston – KC5HWB on 25 maart 2021 at 01:49

    Tonight I get the privilege of speaking to John Amodeo and other staffers from the popular TV show ‘Last Man Standing’ starring Tim Allen as KA0XTT. To commemorate the last season of Last Man Standing, I’m honored to have been invited to operate as one of the Special Event Stations later this month. 

  • Episode 571: Ham Radio Happy Hour for March 2021 – LIVE from the QSO Today Virtual Ham Expo!
    by Jason Johnston – KC5HWB on 24 maart 2021 at 14:12

    Join us at 8pm CST (Saturday 02:00 UTC) on Friday the 12th for the March 2021 edition of the YouTubers Bunch Ham Radio Happy Hour! This month we will be streaming from inside of the QSO Today Virtual Ham Expo, with the feed right here on YouTube. We will talk about the Expo itself and just have a grand-old time talking about HAM RADIO! Come join the excitement!

  • Episode 570: Ham Radio Today! Shopping Deals and Upcoming Events for March 2021
    by Jason Johnston – KC5HWB on 17 maart 2021 at 23:39

    Welcome to Ham Radio Today, a new format for my Weekly Shopping Videos for Ham Radio Deals on Gear and Events. Take a look at the links below for today’s video! 73k Giveaway: http://hamradio2.com/73k-giveawayR&L: http://hr2.li/5fsa3NEW MERCH! http://shop.hamradio2.comOklahoma QSO Party: https://www.contestcalendar.com/contestdetails.php?ref=293QSO Today Ham Expo: https://www.qsotodayhamexpo.comBridgecom Giveaway: https://wn.nr/TYJMhzHam Radio Prep: https://hamradioprep.comDisount Code: jason20Gigaparts Weekly Specials: http://hr2.li/witae

  • Episode 569: How to use the Icom IC-705 with the Xiegu XPA125B Amp for HF Ham Radio
    by Jason Johnston – KC5HWB on 15 maart 2021 at 05:09

    This was part of the ARRL International DX Contest for SSB at our hunting lease, operating as KN5TR. We used the Icom IC-705 pushing a Xiegu X125B Amp, and it ran on the Bioenno battery and solar panel all day long. The antenna of choice on this trip was the BuddiHex from Buddipole.Interface Cable: https://ebay.us/1lrEvMIC-705: https://amzn.to/3t39gWcXPA125B: https://amzn.to/30rntQsPeovi Bracket: http://hr2.li/x7z8e

  • Episode 568: Lunchtime Livestream – 73,000 Subs Giveaway
    by Jason Johnston – KC5HWB on 15 maart 2021 at 04:54

    Join me for the Lunchtime Livestream on Wednesday March 10th as I celebrate my channel breaking 73,000 subs and announce some giveaways. I hope you can make it, and look forward to seeing you!Giveaway link – http://hamradio2.com/73k-giveaway”The Spirit of Radio” – (Wednesday Live Stream & Support Information): https://100wattsandawire.com/thespiritofradio”Papa” Phil’s Website: (Ham Radio Giveaways, Phil’s Video, Testing and Donation Information): https://www.papaphilcan.com/ab8pr/”Papa” Phil Challenge: (We encourage operators to put this video on their QRZ page): https://youtu.be/O7nrc4lJggcSpecial Event: “The Spirit of Radio” from March 13 to March 20. We’re operating as (K4P) or “Kidney 4 Papa” – http://QRZ.com/db/K4P

  • Episode 567: MORE Ham Radio YouTube Channels You Need To Watch
    by Jason Johnston – KC5HWB on 14 maart 2021 at 03:04

    In January of 2021 I posted a video that featured some newer content creators in Ham Radio on YouTube. That video did very well for me on this channel, but also for those new channels, by spreading the word about their great content.I decided to do it again! This time with another set of new creators. Check the video Premiere, and find links to all of these new channels below!This Side of the Radio: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpyN5aa-M6ev-24lhSZTwewTango Oscar Mike Adventure Radio: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCex-jLJaoDKw5wXSwSNHyyAKK6USY Ham Radio Adventures: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCbTOS3UcdsFXn_N7RjQGdHAMM0OPX Amateur Radio: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCGdQWA7kHTQRwXuPHk2vbhADoug McAlexander, N4HNH: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCDleMElL0gbdi2x3seJb5VAAstro Leah: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCdmr0XxVPxsf9ZBcnjNKfqQTank Radio: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCsGPsE7FszSGOQPfwRcDjoA

  • Episode 566: QSO Today Virtual Ham Expo Interview and Livestream | Online Virtual Hamfest!
    by Jason Johnston – KC5HWB on 14 maart 2021 at 02:54

    Tonight we talk with Eric, 4Z1UG, from the QSO Today Podcast and QSO Today Virtual Ham Expo. The first Ham Expo of 2021 is next weekend, so we will get some new information about how the show preparation is progressing and other info. We will also be giving away a few tickets on this stream.Find more information about the Ham Expo here – https://www.qsotodayhamexpo.com

  • Episode 565: Ham Radio Weekly Events and Specials for March 5th
    by Jason Johnston – KC5HWB on 10 maart 2021 at 04:44

    Ham Radio Weekly Events and Specials – I am changing the format a bit to include events along with great shopping deals each week in this video series. Check the links below!R&L: http://hr2.li/5fsa3BetterSafeRadio UV9G GMRS: http://hr2.li/e90v4$15 Off Coupon: HR2G15BetterSafeRadio UV9P HAM: http://hr2.li/14qp6Point Below: http://hr2.li/msfw4Bridgecom Giveaway: https://wn.nr/TYJMhzGigaparts Weekly Specials: http://hr2.li/witaeARRL Inter. DX Contest, SSB: https://www.contestcalendar.com/contestdetails.php?ref=289QSO Today Ham Expo: https://www.qsotodayhamexpo.comMERCH! http://shop.hamradio2.comHam Radio Prep: https://hamradioprep.comDiscount Code: jason20

  • Episode 564: Ham Radio Digital Modes Comparison – DMR, DSTAR or YSF? P25 or NXDN?
    by Jason Johnston – KC5HWB on 10 maart 2021 at 04:03

    Today I connect to a hotspot with the 3 most comment digital modes in Ham Radio, which are DMR, DSTAR and YSF (Yaesu System Fusion) and let you, the audience, listen to each one. We will talk about the differences, my preferences, and my recommendations for you.

  • Episode 563: Getting Started in CW Morse Code | Lunchtime Livestream with Red Summit RF
    by Jason Johnston – KC5HWB on 10 maart 2021 at 03:50

    Today I welcome Charlie, NJ7V, from the Red Summit RF Channel – he is going to give us some advice on how to get started in CW Morse Code for those interested in learning this very fun mode.Red Summit RF Channel: https://www.youtube.com/redsummitrf

  • Episode 562: Baofeng UV-9R TP 18-watt Power Testing | UV9R Plus HT
    by Jason Johnston – KC5HWB on 10 maart 2021 at 03:26

    Baofeng UV-9R TP 18-watt HT Ham Radio Unboxing and power testing – let’s see if this 18-watt HT does what it is advertised to do!Ebay link: https://ebay.us/H512Au

  • Episode 561: Ham Radio Shopping Deals for February 26th
    by Jason Johnston – KC5HWB on 7 maart 2021 at 23:15

    Ham Radio Shopping Deals and Specials for this weekend and the upcoming month of March, plus some giveaways and hamfest events. Check the links below!MERCH! http://shop.hamradio2.comRadioddity Flash Sale: https://www.radioddity.com/collections/flash-sale/products/xiegu-g90-hf-transceiverRadioddity Discount Code: https://radioddity.refr.cc/jasonjohnstonMy Amazon Store: https://www.amazon.com/shop/hamradio2.0MTC Mailer: https://tinyurl.com/yb88zvkkQSO Today Virtual Ham Expo: https://www.qsotodayhamexpo.comHam Radio Prep: https://hamradioprep.comDisount Code: jason20HRO Giveaway: https://www.hamradio.com/50/Gigaparts Giveaway: https://www.gigaparts.net/sweepstakes

  • Episode 560: Ham Radio vs Walkie Talkie | Handheld Ham Radio Comparison
    by Jason Johnston – KC5HWB on 7 maart 2021 at 23:08

    Ham Radio vs Walkie Talkie, what a strange topic of discussion. But this is a term that is often searched on YouTube, so today I was explain the differences between a Ham Radio, a Handheld Ham Radio HT, and a Walkie Talkie.

  • Episode 559: FCC Notice Warns Against Using Radio Illegally And Wants to Charge $35 for Ham Radio YTB #23
    by Jason Johnston – KC5HWB on 1 maart 2021 at 22:43

    After some events at the US Capitol the FCC issued a statement, warning us not to use airwaves for illegal activity. PLUS they want to start charging a $35 fee for Ham Radio Licenses. Today I meet with the YouTubers Bunch to discuss these new topics.FCC Notice: https://docs.fcc.gov/public/attachments/DA-21-73A1.pdfBe sure and subscribe to these great channels:K8MRD Radio Stuff: http://youtube.com/k8mrdradiostuffKyle – AA0Z: https://www.youtube.com/kyleaa0zSevenForty1: https://www.youtube.com/user/sevenforty1DX Commander – https://www.youtube.com/user/m0mcxGoodgame Ham Radio, Bees, and Outdoors – https://www.youtube.com/goodgamehamradiobeesoutdoorsTemporarily Offline – https://youtube.com/temporarilyofflineHam Radio TV – https://www.youtube.com/hamradiotvK6ARK Portable Radio – https://www.youtube.com/user/Vector511c

  • Texas Snowmageddon! After Chat
    by Jason Johnston – KC5HWB on 25 februari 2021 at 20:23

    This is an After Chat, following the Texas Snowmegeddon Livestream from Sunday, Feb 21

  • Episode 558: Texas Snowmageddon! Texas Winter Storm 2021 Lessons Learned for Prepping and Comms
    by Jason Johnston – KC5HWB on 25 februari 2021 at 20:22

    This week was the Texas Snowmageddon – The first Winter Storm of 2021 and it was a record-breaking event for weather all across Texas. We saw record lows temps, record snowfall, and record outages of power, water and communications.What did I learn? What can WE learn from this? Were we not prepared? How can we become more prepared for future events and more Self Reliant?Tonight I will share my thoughts about this event, the Winter Storm 2021 experiences I had this past week, and how I plan to prepare for them next time. Your input and thoughts are welcome!

  • Episode 557: Ham Radio Shopping Deals for February 19th
    by Jason Johnston – KC5HWB on 22 februari 2021 at 18:43

    Thanks for stopping by! Here are the Weekly Specials and Shopping Deals for the weekend of Feb 19th, plus links to some important, upcoming events!R&L: http://www.randl.comMTC Mailer: https://tinyurl.com/yb94u7nwAmerican Radio Supply Coupon: https://tinyurl.com/yc6vo4crQSO Today Virtual Ham Expo: https://www.qsotodayhamexpo.comK9JEB Kits: https://k9jeb.comBridgecom Giveaway: https://wn.nr/TYJMhzMERCH and Antennas: http://shop.hamradio2.comAA0Z for Ham Radio Trivia: https://youtu.be/fodci5Flk1Y

  • Episode 556: Wouxun HT Models Comparison – Wouxun UV9D, UV9K, UV9T Differences
    by Jason Johnston – KC5HWB on 21 februari 2021 at 22:18

    What are the differences between the Wouxun UV9(x) models of HT Radios for Ham Radio?Wouxun Models: (Affiliate Links can earn commissions)KG-UV8D: http://hr2.li/ml2ekKG-UV9D: http://hr2.li/7zgg3KG-UV9D-MATE: http://hr2.li/jrvnxKG-UV9P: http://hr2.li/guv3qKG-UV9T: https://amzn.to/3pCgoGGKG-UV9K: http://hr2.li/rg6ydKG-UV8H: http://hr2.li/3x4ul

  • Evaluation of uBlox GPS Receivers Performance – TAPR Digital Communications Conference 2020
    by Jason Johnston – KC5HWB on 21 februari 2021 at 02:34

    Evaluation of uBlox GPS Receivers Performance by John Ackermann, N8UR (TAPR) – TAPR Digital Communications Conference

 2,201 Views Totaal,  1 Views Vandaag

☆ Translate ☆